Welcome to the 3rd Department of Cardiology
of the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki

The Department specializes in heart diseases. It consists of sectors and laboratories covering a wide range of cardiac services such as the diagnosis and treatment of congenital heart disorders, coronary heart disease, heart failure, valvular heart disease and electrophysiology.

In the Department all types of cardiac diseases are treated at the highest level of medical and nursing care. The Cardiology Ward consists of 24 beds and 10 CCU beds equipped with the state-of-the-art medical equipment. Annually more than 2,500 patients are treated at the premises. The Department is part of the 4th National Health District and participates in the 24-hour on-call plan for cardiac emergencies for the region.

At our website you will be able to find information about the staff and the organization of the Department, its clinical, academic and research work. Historical data regarding the Department and news relevant to events and happenings are also displayed here.

History of the Department

The 3rd Department of Cardiology was founded in 1986 and became independent unit of Medical School of the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki in 2002. The first elected director was Professor Athanasios Kontopoulos, who was succeeded by Professor Paraschos Geleris. Since September 2012, the director of the Department is Professor Vassilios Vassilikos. In January 2014 the Department was relocated at the 3rd floor of Building A of the "Hippocrateion" General Hospital.